Jump to content


Photo

Resolution


  • Please log in to reply
49 replies to this topic

#21 TheDuff10

TheDuff10

    Rubber Ducky

  • Minstrum
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 29 November 2014 - 17:36

This forum is a great way to get in touch with RTG and bring issues to their attention. Morten, who responded here first, is RTG Staff.

He might be able to give you some better info, but probably not until Monday Oslo time.

 

That's great, thanks for your reply.

 

I worked out how to enforce the ultra wide resolution.

 

 in ~/Library/Preferences/unity.Red Thread Games.Dreamfall Chapters.plist I have the following, and after editing I locked the file so the game cannot modify it.

 

<key>SavedResolution</key>

<string>3440x1440</string>
<key>Screenmanager Is Fullscreen mode</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>Screenmanager Resolution Height</key>
<integer>1440</integer>
<key>Screenmanager Resolution Width</key>
<integer>3440</integer>
 

 

Also, in Stream I set launch options to  -screen-width 3440 -screen-height 1440

 

The game now runs on full resolution with occasional flicker, but that I can live with. Happy days :)


  • agirlnamedbob and Victorplepe like this

#22 agirlnamedbob

agirlnamedbob

    Harbinger of the Balance

  • Moderator
  • 11228 posts
  • LocationWisconsin, USA

Posted 29 November 2014 - 17:43

Oh great! Glad to see you got it working. Thanks for posting the details. Good to know and I'm sure this will be helpful info for other people. :)

Erika - Friendly RTG Moderator

Facebook - Twitter - Steam - Twitch


#23 Ikon

Ikon

    Harbinger of the Balance

  • Istrum
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2788 posts

Posted 29 November 2014 - 18:02

Great work TheDuff10. I'm sure this will help others. Any chance you can post a screencap?


If at first you don't succeed, do it like your mother told you.


#24 TheDuff10

TheDuff10

    Rubber Ducky

  • Minstrum
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 29 November 2014 - 19:09

Thanks guys, there you go :) a couple of 'awesome' 3440x1440 shots

 

9LggzAx.jpgN2ECFga.jpg

  • agirlnamedbob, Mr Moo and Mixthos like this

#25 Ikon

Ikon

    Harbinger of the Balance

  • Istrum
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2788 posts

Posted 29 November 2014 - 19:34

Thanks. Nice shots.


If at first you don't succeed, do it like your mother told you.


#26 Mohya

Mohya

    Rubber Ducky

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 14 December 2014 - 00:58

I have a problem. I'm running the game on a Mac with OS X 10.8 and I can't find ~/Library/Preferences/unity.Red Thread Games.Dreamfall Chapters.plist

I've looked in every "Library"-folder I could find. The game crashes right after Zoe leaves the pschiytrist's office. I guess it's a problem with the RAM. I didn't know you had to have the newest of the new computers to play this games. It's a point and click adventure not a shooter.



#27 Mr Moo

Mr Moo

    Harbinger of the Balance

  • Vestrum
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2096 posts
  • LocationNorway

Posted 14 December 2014 - 01:02

Mohya: There are some system requirements for every game, also this one. How much RAM and CPU etc do you have?

 


Mac System Requirements:

  • Minimum:
    • OS: Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard or higher 
    • Processor: Core 2 Duo 2GHz or equivalent 
    • Memory: 3 GB RAM 
    • Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 4000 
    • Hard Drive: 5 GB available space 
    • Sound Card: Yes
  • Recommended:
    • OS: Mac OS X v10.6 Snow Leopard or higher 
    • Processor: Quad Core i5 2.5GHz 
    • Memory: 4 GB RAM 
    • Graphics: ATI or Nvidia card with 1GB VRAM 
    • Network: Broadband Internet connection 
    • Hard Drive: 20 GB available space 
    • Sound Card: Yes

  • agirlnamedbob likes this

#28 agirlnamedbob

agirlnamedbob

    Harbinger of the Balance

  • Moderator
  • 11228 posts
  • LocationWisconsin, USA

Posted 14 December 2014 - 01:04

What Moohouse said. You don't have to have the "newest" computer. You just have to meet the minimum specs. The game is CPU intensive. It's an adventure game, but it's quite graphically intensive and Unity has some limitations in terms of certain optimizations. 

 

That being said, I'm not sure if the resolution is your issue...? Have you tried some of the suggestions in the FAQ? Also, do you have the latest patch installed?


Erika - Friendly RTG Moderator

Facebook - Twitter - Steam - Twitch


#29 Lee-m

Lee-m

    Harbinger of the Balance

  • Vestrum
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1866 posts
  • LocationYorkshire, England

Posted 14 December 2014 - 01:07

It's a point and click adventure not a shooter.

Its also not a point and click. Its a full 3D adventure game. You can check the system requirements (that are pretty low) on the steam store page here: http://store.steampo...com/app/237850/
  • agirlnamedbob likes this

#30 Mohya

Mohya

    Rubber Ducky

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 14 December 2014 - 01:08

I have 4 GB RAM, Intel Core 5i, 2,4 GHz

 

I tried finding ~/Library/Preferences/unity.Red Thread Games.Dreamfall Chapters.plist so I can change the resolution. But I can't find it.



#31 agirlnamedbob

agirlnamedbob

    Harbinger of the Balance

  • Moderator
  • 11228 posts
  • LocationWisconsin, USA

Posted 14 December 2014 - 01:30

Do you have the game through Steam, GOG, or Humble? 

 

I don't have a Mac, so I can't confirm how to navigate to the path, but if you have the game on Steam, you should be able click on the game in your library and bring up a menu. Then click properties --> local files --> browse local files. You might be able to get to it from there. 


Erika - Friendly RTG Moderator

Facebook - Twitter - Steam - Twitch


#32 Mohya

Mohya

    Rubber Ducky

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 14 December 2014 - 01:47

I have it from GOG. But I give it up for today. It's 2 a.m. here. I used all my freetime for today up trying to get the game to work.



#33 agirlnamedbob

agirlnamedbob

    Harbinger of the Balance

  • Moderator
  • 11228 posts
  • LocationWisconsin, USA

Posted 14 December 2014 - 01:54

I'm sorry I can't be more help. :( I hope you get some sleep and hopefully someone else has an idea, or maybe another Mac user will pop on in the morning and be able to help. 


Erika - Friendly RTG Moderator

Facebook - Twitter - Steam - Twitch


#34 TheDuff10

TheDuff10

    Rubber Ducky

  • Minstrum
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 14 December 2014 - 09:34

I have 4 GB RAM, Intel Core 5i, 2,4 GHz

 

I tried finding ~/Library/Preferences/unity.Red Thread Games.Dreamfall Chapters.plist so I can change the resolution. But I can't find it.

 

Hi there

 

I may be a way off, but two things pops to my mind

 

Check if you are accessing correct Library folder. OS X has three of them

 

/Library

/System/Library

/Users/YOURUSERNAME/Library

 

The latter is the one you need.

 

Stream downloads any patches automatically as long as the Stream app is running. I am not sure if GOG can do the same, is your game up-to-date?


  • agirlnamedbob likes this

#35 Ikon

Ikon

    Harbinger of the Balance

  • Istrum
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2788 posts

Posted 14 December 2014 - 09:46

Stream downloads any patches automatically as long as the Stream app is running. I am not sure if GOG can do the same, is your game up-to-date?

 

GoG doesn't work like Steam: you download and install patches yourself. Some consider that a disadvantage; others prefer it.


  • agirlnamedbob and ct2651 like this

If at first you don't succeed, do it like your mother told you.


#36 ct2651

ct2651

    Harbinger of the Balance

  • Istrum
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2138 posts

Posted 15 December 2014 - 00:43

GoG doesn't work like Steam: you download and install patches yourself. Some consider that a disadvantage; others prefer it.

 

I'm going to thank you for all the people you take time to help on these forum, cheers!


  • agirlnamedbob and khh like this

#37 Ikon

Ikon

    Harbinger of the Balance

  • Istrum
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2788 posts

Posted 15 December 2014 - 00:57

I'm going to thank you for all the people you take time to help on these forum, cheers!

 

Well, thank you for this. It's my pleasure to help where I can.


  • khh and ct2651 like this

If at first you don't succeed, do it like your mother told you.


#38 Kortes

Kortes

    Rubber Ducky

  • Minstrum
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 25 November 2015 - 22:10

I've tried the registry fix and it's working only with the windows mod and that white bar on the top disturbs me. In case of full screen it just switches it to the previous resolution. I've tried to modify the permissions in registry and the game just crashes after the intro cut-scene. Anybody? 



#39 Morten

Morten

    RTG Programmer

  • RTG Staff
  • 1061 posts
  • LocationOslo, Norway

Posted 26 November 2015 - 10:10

Sounds very much like a hardware/driver issue. Or that you're inputting a weird resolution value of some kind.

It crashes when you hack the resolution of the game to some invalid value as the GPU has full control over that monitor display rendering the game. 

 

Keep in mind that there are still resolutions/aspect ratios that we do not support at this time.


  • DiskJunky likes this

Red Thread Games PR0grammer & Naturally Selected Part-Time "Keep Track of Forum"-person / Community Overseer


#40 Kortes

Kortes

    Rubber Ducky

  • Minstrum
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 27 November 2015 - 10:49

Sounds very much like a hardware/driver issue. Or that you're inputting a weird resolution value of some kind.

It crashes when you hack the resolution of the game to some invalid value as the GPU has full control over that monitor display rendering the game. 

 

Keep in mind that there are still resolutions/aspect ratios that we do not support at this time.

It's ultrawide 3440x1440






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users