BummsGeordy

Rubber Ducky

• Vestrum
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • LocationGermany

Posted 30 January 2014 - 09:59

Hi!

(it's my first time post here - and my first post in english - so please be patient with me ;) )

In the past few Weeks I had the urge to replay The Longest Journey and Dreamfall - sort of an preparation for Dreamfall-Chapters. I had such fond memories of these games and I am really glad, that these memories still hold up to reality and that I backed the new game on kickstarter! :)

So - back to the topic:

In my replay of these games I noticed heavy parallels and/or nods to the TV Show Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I don't know if this was discussed or if this is just know around the fan base, but I was really pleasantly surprised by this. It would be cool to collect some of the references here and to disscuss them.

BTVS is one of my most favorite shows ever (besides everything else from Joss whedon - whom I am a HUGE fan of, especially Firefly and BTVS) and it hit me with a stone, when I discovered, that one of my most favorite games series (TLJ and Dreamfall) has so much in common with the other stuff I love. Perhaps this is the reason WHY I like both of these things so much :)

- The Protagonis is a girl. It's not just girl - it is a strong female CHARAKTER that is real and that you can relate to. Sometimes they are self-refertential and sometimes they throw in some pop-cultural references.

- The name "Faith" (for the girl in Dreamfall) and the word-play with it parallels a similar thing to buffy. First: there is a character named "faith" in BTVS and secondly - the Sister of Buffy is named Dawn - and she is referenced in a dream sequence by  "be back before dawn" (before you know, that she exists) - which is almost the same thing, that happens in Dreamfall, where the white of the Kin says something like "Faith will lead you".

- Zoe discovers, that she has a sister, that she didn't know - exactly like Buffy ;)